ARTICLES / ARTS & CULTURE / HISTORY / POLITICS / RECENT

What Pete Seeger Taught Me About Activism

Mother Jones

(Mother Jones) It was 2008, and I was there ostensibly to write for the New York Times about Seeger’s weekly Saturday protests against the Iraq War. But the secret reason I went was because I’d recently entered local politics, and I wanted to know how a man who’d been castigated, blacklisted, and stoned, had kept the faith.

READ FULL ARTICLE> What Pete Seeger Taught Me About Activism

2 thoughts on “What Pete Seeger Taught Me About Activism

  1. I love reading your articles. I found one from 2001 you wrote for PBS called Raging for Roadmaps. I have found a 1941 Grizzly Gasoline map from 1941 but am having a tough time finding more info. Do you have some suggestions for good resources? Thank you.

    • Thank you Jill. Have you looked up Noel Barrett, the guy I interviewed for that article? His phone number is on the antiques roadshow site, under appraisers, and he might have some ideas. I don’t know more about the topic than what’s there, I’m sorry to say. Best, and good luck, Dennis

Leave a comment